<< PREVIOUS HOME NEXT >>
 
CLARIFICATIONS

 
Entrenchments

Under the current rules, if two opposing trenches lines are within 4" (or equivalent, depending on chosen ground scale) then the attacking stands can automatically spot defending stands within the trenches. The defender can then be targeted, and potentially destroyed, by small-arms fire without the attacker leaving the trenches. This is not historically accurate. The following clarification was posted on the Great War Spearhead Group:
 
There are two possible ways to prevent inappropriate targeting of entrenched defenders within 4" of the attacker's trenches:

  • The attacker cannot actually fire at the enemy in the trench, although artillery may still try and inflict damage.
  • Any troops in trenches within 4" of the defender "MUST" move forward.

If an infantry or dismounted cavalry is facing forward while in an entrenchment and then pivots within the entrenchment, the stand retains the -2 defence modifier on the Combat Chart.

Dismounting cavalry

Cavalry take a half turn to mount or dismount. This counts as a combat move (see Rule 5.7.5). During this move, the cavalry stand remains vulnerable to incoming fire. The stand's DEF drops by -1 during the turn on which it mounts or dismounts, as per Rule 5.1.1. This reflects the vulnerability of cavalry during these manoeuvres. Mounting and dismounting was best conducted out of range or line of sight of enemy forces.

 

The GREAT WAR SPEARHEAD Website is edited and maintained by John Moher & Shawn Taylor. GREAT WAR SPEARHEAD is © 2001 Shawn Taylor and Arty Conliffe. The contents of these pages are © 2001 Shawn Taylor, John Moher, Arty Conliffe, and/or the appropriate Authors and Contributors.