Skippy the Wonder DogspareChange productions - your source for quality games
 
Games

News

Schedule

Stephen Tassie
If you have any questions at all about how the game works that aren't answered in the rule book, feel free to ask me, but read the FAQ first since your answer might already be here. To make sure you get all your questions answered and get the latest Grave Robbers news, join our discussion group.

Grave Robbers from Outer Space FAQ

*Important Errata*

A very important rule was somehow omitted from the rule book. For the first round of play no player may play any cards that effect other players. That means no Creature cards, no Locations or Special Effects that target anything but your Movie.

Q: When the Space Mimic from Uranus makes a kill who chooses the victim?
A: The attacker chooses the first victim of the Mimic, but when it's time for the Mimic to move on, the target of the attack chooses the order in which their Characters fall prey to it.

Q: At the start of the game does each player make a Title?
A: No. Six cards are drawn and the players as a group use them to create one Title that will apply to all players.

Q: Can Explosives be used in conjunction with Walked Out Early?
A: The answer is yes and no. Yes because there is nothing printed on either card that forbids it. But the Walked Out Early card should read "Tally up the Defensive Strength of all your in play cards" not "the Defensive Strength of your Movie" so the way we intended it you cannot combine them. Since you discard Explosives to get the temporary bonus, the card is not "in play" and therefore not covered by Walked Out Early.

Q: In what order is the playing of cards resolved?
A: Cards are resolved in the order in which they are played UNLESS you are playing a card that is intended to cancel a previous card, in which case they are resolved in "first-in-last-out" sequence.

Example: You attack your target with "Carnivore Slugs". You opponent responds with "It Was Only A Dream". You play "Cut" to cancel "It Was Only A Dream", but your opponent plays "Cat In The Closet" to cancel your "Cut". So you play "Editing Room Floor" to cancel the "Cat In The Closet". "ERF" cancels "CITC" and since "CITC" is gone there's nothing to stop your "Cut" from canceling "IWOAD", there by allowing the "Carnivore Slugs" to continue their rampage unhindered.

Q: If someone plays a card that forces me to discard cards/give cards to someone else etc. (such as "Didn't See That Coming") can I play any Special Effects in my hand before I discard?
A: No! Unless you are playing something to stop the card that is forcing you to discard the card your opponent has played gets resolved before anything else gets played.

Q: What's the deal with Psycho Killers (PK)?
A: A PK is Creature card and Attacks just like any other Creature card, but because of the card's special ability, when you attack with it, you may play any Weapon card(s) from your hand to boost the attack. If you use any Weapons in this manner, they are discarded at the end of the Attack.

Q: What's the deal with Characters that say they are also PKs?
A: "Mom" and the "Creepy Inn Keeper" are Character cards with the special effect that they can also be used as Creature cards with the trait "Psycho Killer". If you have one of these cards, you may do ONE of two things with it. Either play it as a Character into your movie, in which case treat it as a Character in every respect, OR you may play it once as a PK Attack, in which case you treat it exactly like a PK Attack card.

Q:Can I play "Walked Out Early" during an attack?
A:Yes. If you are being attacked and are going to lose it is a great time to play W.O.E., especially if you only have one Character in play. You score the points for what's in play and, for the purposes of any card text, the attack is considered a failure. (i.e. "Daracula" wouldn't be able to go back to the attacker's hand, if it was a PK attack no one could play "Relentless" etc.)

Q: When can I use the special abilities listed on the cards in my Movie?
A: If the card doesn't specifically tell you when you may use the special ability, you may use it at any time, same as you would use a Special Effect card.

Q: Can I move Props from one Character in my Movie to another?
A: Yes. On your turn, as long as the Character receiving the Prop hasn't been given one already this turn, you may transfer a Prop from one Character to another.

Q: Can you play Characters onto other people's movies?
A: Not in the original game. In some of the sequels, Characters exist that can or must be played into opponent's movies, but they say so on the individual cards.

Q: How does "3rd Rate Actor" work?
A: The Character's current defensive value (including all their props) is reduced to zero. Nothing you add to that Character will increase its value above zero until you get rid of the "3rd Rate Actor" card ("Editing Room Floor" is the only card that will do the job once "3rd Rate Actor" is in play). You may remove the Character's Props and redistribute them to other Characters to once again reap their defensive bonuses.

Q: If I have no Characters in my Movie, am I out of the game?
A: No. All players stay in the game until the credits are rolled - even if they have no cards in play.

Q: Is there any limit to the number of Props a Character owns?
A: No. A Character may own as many Props as you wish to load them up with, but remember: If that Character dies, all their toys go to the discard pile with them. So don't put all your eggs in one basket.

Q: Do Locations get dicarded when all your Characters are dead?
A: Once a Location is in your movie, you keep it until a new Location is played, or a Special Effect is played which causes the Location to be discarded.

Q: When do you play Special effects cards?
A: Whenever you like. If the playing of a Special Effect won't have any effect on an Attack that is currently under way however, please be considerate and wait until the Attack is complete.

Q:Do Characters from one player's movie ever interact with those from another player's movie?
A:No. There are cards that let you take a Character from someone else and put it into your movie, but the Characters in one movie never have an effect on Characters in another. That means that cards which allow you to save a particular type of Character by sacrificing another Character can't be used to save one of your Characters by removing an opponent's Character from play.
Note, Kung Fu Samurai on Giant Robot Island introduced the Kung Fu trait, which allows Characters from one movie to beat up on those in another movie.

Q: If I play a Roll the Credits card and it gets stopped by "Sequel" or "Gotcha" may I keep playing cards?
A: Your turn ends the moment you play "Roll the Credits" so you may not continue with Props, Characters, Creatures or Locations, but you may still play Special Effects.

Q: If nobody Rolls the Credits, how does the game end?
A: The person who draws the last card from the deck (whether or not there are enough cards to fill their hand to six) takes the final turn. When they are finished playing cards, the game ends and everyone tallies their scores.

Q: When someone Rolls the Credits can I play any cards or use any special abilities?
A: The only cards that can be played or used after a Roll the Credits are "Sequel" and "Gotcha". If either of those are played, the game continues, otherwise the game is immediately over.

Q: When someone Rolls the Credits what cards score points?
A: You score points based on the cards currently in play in your movie. Any card that has a Defensive Strength or Defensive Bonus (ie Characters, Props and Locations) score you points equal to the number printed in the upper left corner of the card. Some Special Effects (Edjumicated, Production Value, etc.) grant a permanent bonus to a Character. You score points for these as well. If your score is 0 or a negative value, you score 0 for the round. Once you know your score for the round, you may score bonus points if any of the cards in your hand or in your movie have ant of the current title words printed on them (the title words will be found at the bottom of the card, printed upside down). You do NOT score points for cards that were once in your movie but are now gone (dead Characters, lost Props, destroyed Locations, etc.).

Cannibal Pygmies in the Jungle of Doom FAQ
*Important Errata*

The Documentary Cameraman character may not use his special ability to put Mother Lode ( or Cult Classic if you are playing a GROS CPJD combo game) into your hand. This combination of card effects could be used to end the game simply by cycling through the deck, so it is not allowed.

Q: Can the Documentary Cameraman stop "Prologue" from going to the discard pile and put it into your hand?
A: No. The Prologue card never actually goes to the discard pile when it is played. It gets played and set aside from the rest of the cards so that there can only be one Prologue played per game. Q: If a player chooses to discard at the end of their turn, or discards to power another card, can the Documentary Cameraman be used to put such a card into your hand?
A: No. His ability is meant to be used on cards that are PLAYED, not cards that are just thrown away. Q: When someone Rolls the Credits what cards score points?
A: You score points based on the cards currently in play in your movie. Any card that has a Defensive Strength or Defensive Bonus (ie Characters, Props and Locations) score you points equal to the number printed in the upper left corner of the card. Some Special Effects (Edjumicated, Production Value, etc.) grant a permanent bonus to a Character. You score points for these as well. If your score is 0 or a negative value, you score 0 for the round. Once you know your score for the round, you may score bonus points if any of the cards in your hand or in your movie have ant of the current title words printed on them (the title words will be found at the bottom of the card, printed upside down). You DO NOT score points for cards that were once in your movie but are now gone (dead Characters, lost Props, destroyed Locations, etc.).

Q: At the start of the game does each player make a Title?
A: No. Six cards are drawn and the players as a group use them to create one Title that will apply to all players.

Q: In what order is the playing of cards resolved?
A: Cards are resolved in the order in which they are played UNLESS you are playing a card that is intended to cancel a previous card, in which case they are resolved in "first-in-last-out" sequence.

Example: You attack your target with "Nazi Troops". You opponent responds with "Rescue Chopper". You play "Jade Talisman" to cancel "Rescue Chopper", but your opponent uses "Good Luck Charm" to cancel your "Jade Talisman". So you play "Sandstorm" to cancel the "Good Luck Charm". "Sandstorm" cancels "Good Luck Charm" and since "Good Luck Charm" is gone there's nothing to stop your "Jade Talisman" from canceling "Rescue Chopper", there by allowing the "Nazi Troops" to continue their rampage unhindered.

Q: If someone plays a card that forces me to discard cards/give cards to someone else etc. (such as "Earthquake") can I play any Special Effects in my hand before I discard?
A: No! Unless you are playing something to stop the card that is forcing you to discard the card your opponent has played gets resolved before anything else gets played.

Q: When can I use the special abilities listed on the cards in my Movie?
A: If the card doesn't specifically tell you when you may use the special ability, you may use it at any time, same as you would use a Special Effect card.

Q: Can I move Props from one Character in my Movie to another?
A: Yes. On your turn, as long as the Character receiving the Prop hasn't been given one already this turn, you may transfer a Prop from one Character to another.

Q: Can you play Characters onto other people's movies?
A: No.

Q: If I have no Characters in my Movie, am I out of the game?
A: No. All players stay in the game until the credits are rolled - even if they have no cards in play.

Q: Is there any limit to the number of Props a Character owns?
A: No. A Character may own as many Props as you wish to load them up with, but remember: If that Character dies, all their toys go to the discard pile with them. So don't put all your eggs in one basket.

Q: Do Locations get dicarded when all your Characters are dead?
A: Once a Location is in your movie, you keep it until a new Location is played, or a Special Effect is played which causes the Location to be discarded.

Q: When do you play Special effects cards?
A: Whenever you like. If the playing of a Special Effect won't have any effect on an Attack that is currently under way however, please be considerate and wait until the Attack is complete.

Q:Do Characters from one player's movie ever interact with those from another player's movie?
A:No. There are cards that let you take a Character from someone else and put it into your movie, but the Characters in one movie never have an effect on Characters in another. That means that cards which allow you to save a particular type of Character by sacrificing another Character can't be used to save one of your Characters by removing an opponent's Character from play.

Q: If nobody Rolls the Credits, how does the game end?
A: The person who draws the last card from the deck (whether or not there are enough cards to fill their hand to six) takes the final turn. When they are finished playing cards, the game ends and everyone tallies their scores.

Q: When someone Rolls the Credits can I play any cards or use any special abilities?
A: The only cards that can be played or used after a ROll the Credits are "Prologue" and "Leopard Skin Bikinis".

Q: Can "Hired Assassins" attack a movie with only one Character in it?
A: No. Since they cannot kill the highest rated Character in a movie, they can only be used to attack movies with more than one Character. If the only two Characters a movie have the same score, the attacker chooses which one to kill. Q: "Jeep" and "Good Luck Charm" both say "Discard to..." perform a certain effect. Does this mean I discard them from my hand when I want to use them?
A: No. They should say "Discard from play". Since they are both Prop cards, they must first be given to a Character in your movie in order to be able to use their special abilities. 

Kung Fu Samurai on Giant Robot Island FAQ
Q:How many kung fu attacks can you make and when can you make them?
A:Kung Fu attacks must be made on your turn. Each of your Characters with the trait 'kung fu' may make one attack per turn.
Q:How do you calculate the DS bonus a kung fu weapon gives to a kung fu Character?
A:As with all cards in the B-Movie series, if the secondary value has an "=" before it, the value superceeds the value printed in the upper left hand corner of the card. If there is no "=", then the secondary value is added to the value printed in the corner (or subtracted from it, if there is a negative integer).
Skippy's Revenge FAQ
Q:
A:
Bell-Bottomed Badassses on the Mean Streets of Funk FAQ
Q:
A:
Copyright © 2004. All rights reserved.
Web mastering on this site care of Cristina Upton