P. O. Box 2044
Pine Bluff, AR 71613-2044
(870) 535-8819

The Cotton Belt Rail Historical Society, Inc. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the restoration and preservation of railroad history. CBRHS is also the Cotton Belt Chapter of the National Railway Historical Society (NRHS). Headquarters are located at the Arkansas Railroad Museum.

 Annual CBRHS dues are $20. Lifetime membership is available for $200. NRHS dues are $17 for CBRHS members plus $2 for spouse.

 The Arkansas Railroad Museum, located in the Cotton Belt yards at the end of East Second Avenue in Pine Bluff, is operated by the Cotton Belt Rail Historical Society. The museum is open daily, Monday through Saturday, from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m., and on Sunday afternoons by reservation. Visitors are welcome and there is no admission charge. The museum features Cotton Belt steam locomotives 819 and 336, an impressive array of rolling stock, a full-scale inside-the-building railroad depot and displays of railroad memorabilia. Souvenirs are on sale to help defray museum operations.

 Donations, large and small, are welcomed and are tax deductible by the donor per IRS regulations. Special emphasis at this time is on financial assistance for the maintenance and improvement of museum exhibit areas and restoration projects. Donations of railroad memorabilia, particularly historical items about railroads that operate, or have operated, in Arkansas and East Texas are encouraged. It is our desire that our members and visitors have an opportunity to enJoy railroad history to its fullest. Thank you for your help in this cause.

Regular meetings of the Cotton Belt Rail Historical Society are held on the second Saturday in March, June, and September at the Arkansas Railroad Museum. The Tyler Tap Chapter meets in Tyler on the fourth Saturday in March, June, and September. The annual Christmas dinner is held in December. See the Calendar of Events in this issue for meeting dates and times.

2000 Officers and Directors
President: David Price
Vice President of Operations: Barry Robinson 
Vice President of Maintenance: Jack T. Stone
Secretary: Elizabeth Gaines 
Treasurer: Joe McCullough
NRHS National Director: Darrel Cason
Board of Directors: Bill Bailey, Alvin Branch, Robert R. McClanahan, Joe McNabb, James T. Matthews, Joey Narbutowitch, Bennie Price, 
 Peter Smykla, Jr. (Chairman), 
John Wellenberger, Gerald E. Cooper 

Tyler Tar, Chapter- CBRHS
President: Pete Martinez
Vice President/Business: Mary Jones
Vice President and
819 Excursion Support: Roy E. Cooper
Secretary: Chris Martinez
Treasurer: Joe T. Jones
Newsletter/Historian: Bill Pyle
Directors: Gerald E. Cooper (Chairman), 
Winston Green, Joe Locke,
From Pine Bluff: Robert R. McClanahan, 
Joey Narbutowitch


CBRHS Calendar of Events

June 8 - Board of Directors meeting RR Museum 7pm
June 10 - Membership meeting and supper, RR Museum 5pm
June 23 - Tyler Tap Chapter Membership meeting 10am
Place TBA

Tyler Cotton Belt Historical Society
November 18 & 19
Harvey Hall Civic Center
For more INFO

Cotton Belt Star Archives
Click for Newsletter Archives


CBRHS Mailbox:  arkrrmus@seark.net

Return to Arkansas Railroad Museum
Return to the CB Web Site Main Page


This page hosted by Get your own Free Home Page