unclassified writing
links & things
Name: Sam Nickell
Sex: Female
Birthdate: July 27, 1980
Chinese Zodiac: Monkey
Marital Status: Engaged
Location: Kentucky, USA
Job: Local Supermarket
School: UK, ENG Sophomore
Hobbies: Video Games, D&D, online roleplay, writing, & research
Family: Mother, Sister,
2 Nephews, Neice, Fiance
I grew up in a small city in North-Eastern Kentucky right by the Ohio River. As of April, 2002 I've gone on hiatus from my college career. When I return, I will be declaring a minor in Philosophy. I also plan to get a doctorate in English, but intend to achieve a Master's degree in Library/Information Science to become a librarian.
My family lives within a five-minute walking distance of the studio I share with 'drew. Having them so close after a few years away from them has really helped me settle into my own life and appreciate them all the more.  I suppose the gist of my story is this: I'm a sometimes college student living on a low budget while trying to get back on her literary feet. I'm not exactly a starving artist, but my life is starving for art, so I hope to make a return to writing through this site. I hope to gain a number of readers interested in providing me with feedback.

These are just a bunch of questions put forth by friends. They fit here more than anywhere else:

3. Your favorite color? Orange.
4. What is your sign? Leo, cusp of Cancer
12. What kind of music do you listen to? The only sort of music I -won't- listen to is some of the earlier Bluegrass and gospel sung by unprofessional old women with voices worse than something out of a buzzard's yap.
16. What is your favorite musician/band? Staind. Tracy Chapman
19. Do you smoke, drink, swear, or have any other vices? If so what are they? Since I only smoke cigarillos and they make me bloody ill, I don't do it very often. I have a drink or two with a meal about twice a month. I'm rabidly addicted to pornography and food will forever be my downfall.
21. ...what is your [sexual] preference? I would claim heterosexual because men are usually my cup of tea, but there's something just too hot about some women.
22. What is your favorite food? Anything with cheese.
26. Who is your favorite actor/actress? Edward Norton!!
28. What kind of books do you read? I'm currently addicted to Laurell K. Hamilton and Barbara Kingsolver.
29. Do have pets? if so, how many and what kind? No. :( But we really really want to get a kitty, so hopefully I"ll have one soon.
46. Do you have any piercings, tattoos or the like? Not yet. I'm still designing the "perfect" tattoo and my piercings heal over so fast that I don't bother anymore.

8. Height: roughly 5'11"
9. Eye colour: Blue/grey hazel
29. Lucky Number: 11
30. Reason Why: it's numerological
31. Favorite Movies: Fight Club, Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, Legend.
32. Favorite Holiday: Halloween
34. Favorite Popstar: Britney Spears
35. TV Show: Good Eats
38. Flower: jonquils, irises
40. Alcoholic Drink: Smirnoff Ice, screwdrivers
41. Sport to Watch: Robot Wars
42. Zoo Exhibit: aquarium
43. Sesame Street Character: snuffalupagus
46. Favorite drink: any flavour of red koolaid
57. Most annoying thing is: stupid people

5. FAVORITE SMELLS? Shower-clean skin. Gingerbread.
6. LEAST FAVORITE SMELLS? Whiskey. Hot asphalt.
7. FAVORITE SOUNDS? Cat's meow/purr/etc.
8. WORST FEELING IN THE WORLD? Vomit rising in the back of your throat.
11. FUTURE CHILD'S NAME? Gabriel Eden or something involving "Edmond" because 'drew is a relative of Edmond Halley, the guy who discovered the comet.
15. DO YOU LIKE TO DRIVE FAST? I don't like to drive at all.
16. DO YOU SLEEP WITH A STUFFED ANIMAL? Two, actually. A teddy bear that's older than I am and an enormous purple monkey.
24. IF YOU COULD DYE YOUR HAIR ANY COLOR, WHAT COLOR WOULD IT BE? I've probably been every single lab manufactured shade of red already. The truly funny thing is that I finally gave in after nearly 11 years and -dyed- my hair back the original color.
26. IS THE GLASS HALF EMPTY OR HALF FULL? It's four ounces of liquid. Period.