Made in Canada is the proud recipient of a 2000, 2003 & 2004 Prix Aurora Award!

Aurora Awards
Click the images for a full size view
Robert J. Sawyers 1997 Aurora Award for Starplex Aurora Award logo James Alan Gardners 1991 award for "Muffin Explains Teleology to the World at Large"
The Prix Aurora Award is Canada's Speculative fiction and fantasy award. The first Aurora was presented to expatriate Canadian author A. E. Van Vogt at the Halcon science fiction convention in Halifax. It was then known as The Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Award.

For the next five years there was only one recipient per year except in 1984 when no award was presented. In 1986 the award was renamed the Casper and three awards were handed out (Best Novel In English, Best Work In French and Contributions To Fandom). 

In 1989 the three categories became nine (Best Long Form Work In English, Best Long Form Work In French, Best Short Form Work In English, Best Short Form Work In French, Best Other Work In English, Best Other Work In French, Fan Achievement, Fanzine Achievement and Other Fan Achievement). In 1991 a tenth category (Artistic Achievement) was added and the award was renamed the Aurora Award.

Some of the recipients of the Aurora have been Julie E. Czerneda, Isaac SzpindelRobert J. Sawyer, Robert Charles Wilson, James Alan Gardner, Charles de LintWilliam Gibson and, of course, Made in Canada. 


Interesting Links

Online Reading

2000 Aurora Award
(Photo Don Bassie)

Please feel free to email Made in Canada with any comments or questions at

Home | Actors | Authors | Media | Filmmakers
| Masterlist | Newsletter | Contributors

Search  Made In Canada

Made in Canada is designed, developed and maintained by Don Bassie at

Last updated March 20, 2006